the Yes, You directive

learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause. Isaiah 1:17

I’ve mulled over this post for months dreading trying to write it. How do I summarize the whirlwind of ideas and desires for this blog into one post? But I have to start somewhere. This will be one of the very few, if not the only, post(s) with my own personal story in it. But I have to share where this is coming from or else there would be this orphan blog that just showed up one day and (hopefully) started working.

Have you heard there are Go-ers and there are Senders? Ninety-nine percent of the time it will be referring to faith based missions. I came out of the womb with the heart of a Go-er. I honestly thought God was preparing me 7ish years ago to sell everything I had, quit my job and move to Sudan to work with child soldiers and “soldiers’ wives” aka girls kept as sex slaves for soldiers in the LRA. And I was ready, too. Little did I know, what He was actually preparing me for was a husband and a little home to call our own that would eventually be filled with 2 dogs and 2 kids. Our house may look like a war zone on any given day, but it’s a far cry from what’s going on in East Central Africa.

I began to get stuck in this weird limbo in my head. My heart was with Africa, a land I’ve never stepped foot in. But God was very clearly telling me that I wasn’t meant to go for the foreseeable future. And truthfully, I developed tunnel vision that left me not really “feeling” local serving opportunities. Just being real here. So that left the option of being a Sender: someone that recognizes the calling God’s put on another to be a Go-er and helps equip them to make that happen. But in my brain being a Sender was strictly left to those in a tax bracket above what we were living in.

A few years ago God started putting a dream in me and my husband to advocate for Go-ers. Fast forward a little and I started to realize that God really was giving me a heart for being a Sender and making me excited for it. But in that process I also started to realize that being a Sender didn’t just mean throwing money at a Go-er and wishing them well. There are so many other ways to enable a Go-er. So my heart began to swell with this dream that started in the beginning of our marriage.

Fast forward to a few months ago and I’m having lunch with 3 friends who are Big Dreamers and Do-ers. They’re Go-ers, they’re Senders, they’re international, they’re local and they’re intentional. In the course of our visit several different ministries and organizations that offer serving opportunities were mentioned and no less than 3 times someone would comment, “Oh, I’ve never heard of ____!” When lunch was over and I had time to process our chat some, this was the conversation that happened in my head…

God: Why aren’t you pursuing this dream I’ve put in you? Me: Because the time’s not right, You haven’t put all the pieces in place. God: When is it ever a bad time to advocate for what I’m doing in the world? Just start doing it now with what you have available.

And what I have available is social media.

So what you can expect to see here is this: The goal is to highlight a different non-profit offering volunteer opportunities that I believe are making an impact in people’s lives. Ideally, there will be 3 posts per ministry or organization. The first will introduce the ministry/organization and give you the basics. This will usually include how it began, what needs they have, who can volunteer and what volunteer needs they have as well as the contact info, hours, etc. The second post of the week will be an interview of someone who is already involved in volunteering and a little of their story. And the third post is an interview with someone who has been served by the non-profit and what changes have taken place for them because of the involvement in their lives.

My prayer is that reading the stories of people who are impacted by serving or being served will spark something inside of you that challenges you to get plugged in if you’re not already pouring yourself into our community or into broader areas of the world. And if you are someone who has a heart for serving, maybe you’ll come across some information at some time that will just click with the way you’re wired.

Be encouraged, there is somewhere for you to be a part of something that is so much bigger than yourself. Who, me? Yes, you.

I’ll be starting with No. 41 started by the lovely Tara Clapper. Go check them out if you’d like to have a head start learning about this amazing ministry.

2 thoughts on “the Yes, You directive

Leave a Reply

